Devotion- Stress

Psalms 37:5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.

Stress! We all have it in one way or another, family, work, living arrangements, school, you name it someone stresses over it.

Today I was presented with more stress than I truly knew what to do with or handle in any way. I stated yesterday that my husband got hurt at work back in January, today we saw the orthopedic surgeon to see what he thought was the best thing for my husband to do next since he still has quite a bit of pain. The words I was dreading…… We need to do surgery! My heart just  sank.

I knew that this was a possibility but was truly hoping that there was a better option. Even though I wasn’t thrilled I put a smile on my face and said goodbye to the hubby as he went back to work and my youngest and I headed back home.

On the way home though I started worrying like a mad woman. I’m worried of course for my husband but also for myself. With him having surgery a lot changes and a lot changes quickly. I’m worried I will get so overwhelmingly stressed that I forget the things that matter. Forget to enjoy the little things. Forget to remember life goes on. Forget to trust in The Lord.

The moment I got home and the kids were situated I opened my bible and just started to pray. Not really praying for a safe surgery or for the kids but praying The Lord and I can keep our relationship strong during the difficult times ahead. After praying aloud I started flipping through pages of the bible not sure what I was looking for and I came across this verse.

Psalms 37:5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.

Coming to him now as I do every day is what I need to do. I trust The Lord and I know he has a plan for our family. Stressing yes is going to happen but right now I should stress about my daughters birthday party coming up in 2 weeks not the surgery or my relationship with God. God and I are best friends and I know he will act in a way that is truly best for myself and our family. Trust in him always!

Leave a Reply

